Okavango facts

The combined population of people in the Cubango - Okavango basin in 2000 was 1,113,000; of these, 76% resided in Angola, 13% in Namibia, and 11% in Botswana. Even taking into account mortality from HIV/AIDS and other diseases, the population is expected to increase to 1,686,000 by 2020.

Read more

A - Z Index

A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z  
30 items matching A
Mr Kgomotso Abi
Commissioner, Deputy Permanent Secretary Botswana Ministry of Minerals, Energy and Water Resources.
Mr Abraham Nehemia
OKACOM Commissioner and Namibia Under Secretary Water and Forestry, Ministry of Agriculture, Water and Forestry
National Action Plans ( NAPs )
National Action Plans (NAPs) for Angola, Botswana and Namibia identify priority problems and interventions based on the Cubango-Okavango Transboundary Diagnostic Analysis and aligned with the Cubango-Okavango Strategic Action Programme (SAP). The NAPs ...
Strategic Action Programme ( SAP )
OKACOM's Strategic Action Programme (SAP) builds on the knowledge collected by the TDA to work towards defining a acceptable development space in the Cubango-Okavango basin.
Mrs. Laurica Celeste Afrikaner
Hydrology Task Force Member, Hydrologist, Namibian Ministry of Agriculture, Water and Forestry
Ms. Aina Ileka
OBSC alternate representative for Namibia, Hydrological Task Force member and Chief hydrologist: Groundwater Management at MAWF
Dr Akolang Russia Tombale
Mrs Erica Akuenje
Retired OKACOM Commissioner, Deputy Permanent Secretary Namibia Ministry of Environment and Tourism
Mr. Albert Bonang Ramaina
Ms Marta Alexandre
Biodiversity Task Force, Angola Ministry of Environment
Ms Ana Lourdes da Costa Ndala Tchihaluka
Institutional Task Force, Angola Ministry of Energy and Water.
Cubango-Okavango Transboundary Diagnostic Analysis
The Cubango-Okavango Transboundary Diagnostic Analysis draws on research conducted throughout the region to provide a knowledge base for OKACOM's work.
A Critical Analysis of the Law, Principles and Practice of Transboundary Water Equity in Southern Africa with a Special Focus on the Okavango River Basin
Clever Mapaure, University of Namibia Faculty of Law.
Mr Carlos Andrade
OBSC and Biodiversity Task Force Member. GABHIC, Angola State Secretariat for Water
Mr Andrew Ndishishi
Former OKACOM Co-Chairperson when he was Permanent Secretary - Ministry of Agriculture, Water and Forestry, Namibia.
Angola Images
Angola in the Basin
Angola landscape images
Angola Links
Useful links to resources about Angola.
Angola Monitoring Reports
Environmental monitoring reports from the Angolan basin.
Angola People
Key Documents for Angola
Key Documents for Angola
Angolan People in OKACOM
Terms of Reference for Editing The OKACOM 2012 Annual Report and Providing Sector Development Content for the Introductory section of the Report
Kavango Zambezi Transfrontier Conservation Area ( KAZA )
The Kavango Zambezi Transfrontier Conservation Area, or KAZA TFCA, is potentially the world’s largest conservation area, spanning five southern African countries; Angola, Botswana, Namibia, Zambia and Zimbabwe, centred around the Caprivi-Chobe-Victoria ...
Mr Armindo Gomes Mario da Silva
Retired OKACOM Commissioner, Co-Chairperson, General Director GABHIC (Cunene River Basin Authority), Angola State Secretariat for Water
Mr Armindo Gomes Mario da Silva
Retired OKACOM Commissioner, Co-Chairperson, General Director GABHIC (Cunene River Basin Authority), Angola State Secretariat for Water
Frequently Asked Questions
Common questions about OKACOM.
Audiovisual Resources
Film, video and sound recordings from OKACOM and partners.
Mr Augusto Marco Sebastião
Hydrology Task Force and Senior Technician in Angola's Department of Water Resources.
projects and partners