Okavango facts

It is the only perennial river in Africa that flows eastward without reaching the ocean.

Read more

OKACOM Structure

Organisational structure of the Permanent Okavango River Basin Water Commission.

Flowchart.jpg commission obsc okasec itf btf htf doc sts

Click on the organisational chart buttons to read more about the OKACOM units.

The Agreement on the Organizational Structure of OKACOM entered into in May 2007 by the OKACOM Member States elaborates and outlines the organizational structure of OKACOM. The Agreement effectively defines three organs within OKACOM, mainly the Commission, the Okavango Basin Steering Committee (OBSC) and the Secretariat. Task forces may be set up to work on specific technical issues identified by the OBSC. In 2011 OKACOM's three task forces agreed to review their mandates in the context of the Strategic Action Programme: the Biodiversity Task Force has proposed to renamed itself the Okavango Biodiversity Technical Group to reflect its permanent nature.

Frequently Asked Questions

projects and partners