Okavango facts

The number of earth's river basins shared between two or more countries is 261, and of these 55 include treaty mechanisms to guide joint management.

Read more

Partners in Research

OKACOM partners with research institutions in the three riparian countries and the Southern African region to ensure that the Commission has access to the best possible knowledge to support its decisions.

Agostinho Neto University, Luanda, Angola

Desert Research Foundation of Namibia, Windhoek, Namibia

Polytechnic of Namibia, Windhoek, Namibia

University of Botswana Okavango Research Institute, Maun, Botswana

University of Namibia, Windhoek, Namibia

projects and partners