Okavango facts

The number of people in SADC who lack safe drinking water is 60 million.

Read more

Kavango Zambezi Transfrontier Conservation Area ( KAZA )

The Kavango Zambezi Transfrontier Conservation Area, or KAZA TFCA, is potentially the world’s largest conservation area, spanning five southern African countries; Angola, Botswana, Namibia, Zambia and Zimbabwe, centred around the Caprivi-Chobe-Victoria Falls area.

The goal of the KAZA TFCA is “To sustainably manage the Kavango Zambezi ecosystem, its heritage and cultural resources based on best conservation and tourism models for the socio-economic wellbeing of the communities and other stakeholders in and around the eco-region through harmonization of policies, strategies and practices.”

The KAZA TFCA is expected to span an area of approximately 287 132 km², almost the size of Italy (300 979 km²) and include no fewer than thirty six (36) formally proclaimed national parks, game reserves, forest reserves, game/wildlife management areas as well as intervening conservation and tourism concessions set aside for consumptive and non-consumptive uses of natural resources.

KAZA's geographic scope overlaps with that of OKACOM, and its programmes are likely to be complementary to many of those in OKACOM's Strategic Action Programme. In April 2010, OKACOM met with KAZA to explore synergies in the two programmes and the possibility of a Memorandum of Understanding for programmatic cooperation.

The KAZA web site.


projects and partners